Should you trust Facebook friends?

You get a message from somebody you think you know who wishes to become one of your Facebook Friends.

Should be alright, best? Maybe not.

Today, one of the most common ploys on this site is the so-called Facebook clone fraud.

In this trick, crooks target Facebook accounts with weak or no personal privacy settings.

They set up similar websites that mimic the initial, stealing all the details and images, and after that get in touch with all the victim's pals with a phony friendship request, attempting to trick them into accepting them once again.

It's fantastic that some users do not first inspect their list of Pals when they receive these demands and gladly accept the clone as a real brand-new buddy, whom, they think, they currently know.

The scoundrels then try numerous scams on your gullible Buddies, such as inviting them to click connect to malicious sites, requesting loan, as well as attempting to trick them into an identity theft scam.

If you're a Facebook user, there are a number of crucial steps you can require to avoid this fraud.

First, constantly check requests versus your existing list of Buddies.

Second, conceal your list of Pals so nobody else can see them or call them, impersonating you. In fact, this readies practice for every single Facebook user.

It's a privacy setting few people appear to know about, however it's easy to do. Here's how:

Open your Facebook profile (typically by clicking your profile image and name in the blue bar at the top of the page).
When your profile page opens, click on the "Buddies" tab.
In the top, right-hand corner, you'll see an editing icon– looks like a little pencil. Click this.
Now you get an option to "Modify Personal privacy." Click this.
Now you'll see a few options, the very first which is "Who can see your Buddies list?"
Click the options on the right for an option varying from "Public" to "Just me."
There are other choices here too however selecting "Only me" ensures no one else, not even your Buddies, can see this list.
That way, nobody can aim to rip-off your Buddies in your name– unless they managed to hijack your account.

Paying for Messages?

Another typical rip-off involves phony messages claiming that one or other of the social media sites is going to begin charging for membership.

These are generally safe, simply starting from someone who's got absolutely nothing much better to do than waste everybody's time by advising recipients to pass it on.

The current variation declares that people utilizing Facebook's Messenger app, or the popular WhatsApp program, will have to start paying for each message they send unless they begin using the app more often. Crazy, huh?

On other celebrations though, these kinds of messages are a prelude to another scam.

For instance, the message may include a connect to a phony site that requests your sign-on information, which will enable the fraudster to pirate your account, as mentioned above.

The truth is that no mainstream social media or messaging app charges members for their services unless they need to send an SMS text (as Skype does).

For competitive factors, they're unlikely to begin charging, so you can securely disregard these warnings.

Harmful Ads

Publishing phony ads with connect to harmful sites appears to be an everyday thing on many social media sites.

But the current technique is a cleverly designed attempt to present the well known tech assistance rip-off.

Windows users who click these harmful links are taken to a websites that looks like the famous "blue screen of death" (BSOD), which shows a whole stream or mistake data.

A genuine BSOD appears when a computer system crashes however, when it comes to this scam, it tells victims they have actually been infected with an infection and must call tech assistance.

You understand the story from here: victims are either charged an outrageous sum to put things ideal or they become identity theft victims after offering the "tech support" individuals access to their PCs.

If you get among these messages, shut down and reboot your PC.

Two To Go

Time for a couple more prior to we go.

Initially, look out for signals via a messenger app appearing to come from a good friend and informing you about a federal grant program that entitles you to as much as $150,000.

All you need to do is provide your individual details. Don't!

Second, do not believe those tear-jerking posts about an ill kid who will get $5 from Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg for every single repost of a sad photo and typing the word "Amen" in the remarks area.

We don't know Mr. Zuckerberg so we cannot say how generous he is or is not. However we do understand he's refraining from doing this, and this particular post is simply a "like farming" operation, which dishonest marketing business utilize to collect lists of fans, which they then offer.

Mary Long CWP

This entry was posted in Public Service, Scams Alert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *